razzle dazzle

Razzle Dazzle Camouflage, based in part on cubist
styles, was used during WWI (mostly) and WWII to
disrupt enemy visual range-finding capabilities;
its purpose was to confuse rather than to conceal
– so damn cool:
[http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dazzle_camouflage]

While it’s likely that I’ve come across Razzle Dazzle
before – perhaps in one of my grandpa’s old history
channel war shows that he would record on VHS,
and which I ravenously watched one summer – it
was upon visiting the Canadian War Museum in
Ottawa last year that I fully began to appreciate
the beauty of the this and other “disruptive
patterns” and deceptive strategies used during war –
and often taken up by fashion and industry.


[image from: Diane, A Shaded View on Fashion blog]

I’m not generally big on museums, but the Canadian
War Museum is probably the best museum that
I’ve ever visited (and I’ve been to plenty of the big
ones in Europe, etc.).  Their “Camouflage” Exhibit
runs through September 2010 and is definitely
worth seeing.

About this entry