Beatniks and Hipsters

“But I’d watch them rambling around the fields all day looking
for something to do, so their wives would think they were real
busy hardworking men, and they weren’t fooling me either.  I
knew they secretly wanted to go sleep in the woods, or just sit
and do nothing in the woods, like I wasn’t too ashamed to do.”

– Jack Kerouac, The Dharma Bums

When you work from home on your own schedule, you have the privilege to do whatever you want, so in making sure to exercise that privilege, I pretty much spent the first half of today coming up with alternative lyrics to the first verse of Skee-Lo’s 1995 song “I Wish” (I’ve had an approximate version of the first few lines in my head for a number of years now, but never knew the correct words, nor the artist or song title).  Yup, that’s how I spent my morning; that’s why I’m poor.

Here’s the original version:

I wish I was little bit taller,
I wish I was a baller,
I wish I had a girl who looked good
I would call her
I wish I had a rabbit in a hat with a bat
and a six four Impala

Here’s the original music video for your viewing pleasure:

And here’s my re-interpretation, in keeping with the current hate-on for hipsters (not an easy word to rhyme, I tell you):

i wish i were a little bit hipster /
hips like my pre-school sista /
i wish i had a fixie i could buy /
from your tips, sir /
i wish i could force a smile once a while maintain style /
when i contradict ‘er


[image from here]

That’s It.

About this entry